Automation feature is exactly how you’d understand the word “automation”: it automates your work process so repetitive, boring tasks are out of your work-stack. 🎉
If you get to save even 10 minutes per day from moving cards on your Kanban boards or resetting due dates, then you’d save approximately one hour every week. One hour in time sounds just fine, but repetitive tasks consume our brain power and create brain-clutter, so why not be more efficient and save that mental space for something more important?
Automation (a.k.a. the Bloo Bot) gives you the superpower to make shift to the way repetitive tasks are handled - even better, they do those tasks for you. 😉Whether you need to automatically move tasks from one list to another, assign people by tags set, or setting a specific timeframe for tasks, Bloo Bot is always up to it! 🚀
Think of automation as something similar to an excel "If" equation.
If (this item) happens, then (this item) happens.
For the first trigger, Bloo Bot supports actions for these items:
Add or Remove Assignees
Add or Remove Tags
Add or Remove Start/Due Date
Move Todo to different list
New Todo Created
Checklist Items Completed
"If a new todo is created in list Backlog, then assign Jane Jones."
"If all checklist items are marked complete, then mark todo as complete."
"If a tag "Bug" is added, then assign Bruce Wayne and set a due date to 10 days after trigger date."
It's right on top of your Todo Board.
It's important to note that only Project Admins can create or edit automations.
All project members can rip the benefits of automated workflow, but they can't make changes to the applied automations.
To create new automations:
Go to the "Automation" button on top of your Todo board and click the + button to create.
Choose your conditions "When___ , then___."
Once automations are applied to the project, you can enable or disable it from the pop-up page. 📌Note that when you disable an automation, the set condition won't apply the moment it is disabled.
From the automation pop-up page, you can make changes to your set conditions or delete it completely. 📌Note that once your automation condition is deleted, it is permanent.
Automatically move todo to "Done" list when it's marked complete.
Assign someone to tasks where a specific tag is set.
Set a deadline for 10 days when a tag "Bug" is added.
Assign people to tasks in a specific list.
Say, if you set a condition like:
"When a new todo is created in list "Backlog", move todo to "In Progress" list"
And you accidentally or intentionally delete the "In Progress" list. In this case, Automations become null, meaning that it no longer applies. It's as if that automation is disabled. When this happens, you can either edit the set condition, delete automation, or create a new list.
👉 But if your condition contains two triggers or above like:
"When a new todo is created in list "Backlog", move todo to "In Progress" list and assign Jane Jones."
And list "In Progress" is deleted, then Bloo Bot will only do the remaining action, which is assign Jane Jones.